JournalStone’s $2,000 Advance in 2012



The Top ten Finalists:  In order of final placement

We had a tie for first place, so both authors will be awarded a $2,000 advance!

1.  Patrick Freivald  -  Twice Shy  (Tied for first place)

1.  Douglas Wynne  -  The Devil of Echo Lake  (Tied for first place)

3.  Ed Erdelac – Terovolas, or Van Helsing in Texas

4.  Kristina Meister – Craving

5.  Michael Bricker – Symphony for the Quiet Ones

6.  Jason White – House of Dark Descent

7.  Elias Sisqueiros – The Gode

8.  Michaelbrent Collings  -  Mr. Gray

9.  Tim Meyer  -  Demon Blood

10.  Christopher Walsh  -  Phantasms


JournalStone’s $2,000 advance in 2012 Publishing Contest 

Get your HORROR novel published and earn a $2,000 advance against future royalties.


JournalStone is holding its 2nd annual HORROR publishing contest. Our first one turned out so well we decided to do it again, and again, and again.  If you are not familiar with last year’s winner please check out That Which Should Not Be by Brett J. Talley.  That could be you next year.

If you are interested please submit your 75,000 words or more manuscript/novel to on or before April 1, 2012, and you will be entered.  The winner will receive a $2,000 advance against future royalties and have his/her novel published by JournalStone.  Grammar counts, have it edited before you submit your entry.

The #1 winner is also eligible for active membership to the HWA (Horror Writers Association).  Have you always wanted to join, but haven’t met the criteria? You can now become an active member with all of its benefits and prestige!

Scared about not winning?  Second prize gets a $500 advance and a published novel.  Yes, you have to sign a contract first.  Third place gets a $200 advance and for the last time, also gets a published novel.  Not one of the top three?  No worries, you might still be good enough to get your novel published, you will just have to earn your money on the royalties.  We only have so much to give out for free.

Worried about costs?  JournalStone is a small press publishing company, not a vanity press.  We pay all the costs associate with publishing your novel. All an author is required to do is submit a freakishly scary book and rock our world.  There are no entry fees.

Genre: Horror only.  Nothing else counts in this contest.  If you have any questions on content, please send an e-mail to or

Word Count: 75,000 words or more. No exceptions.

Submission Deadline: All submissions must be received no later than 11 p.m. Pacific time April 1, 2012. JournalStone highly recommends you submit your work early.

Editing: Please have your work edited prior to submission.  Can’t afford editing?  If your work is absolutely awesome, we still might read it.  It might even win, but you will be one step behind the others from the start. So you are better off just getting it edited beforehand.

To submit your work, please send in a Microsoft Word document in Times New Roman 11-point font, single line spacing to  In the subject line you must put ‘JournalStone’s $2,000 Advance in 2012’.  You must include your name, address and e-mall address with the submission.  Take credit for your work, please don’t force us to investigate who you are or what entry goes with some cryptic e-mail address.

The tentative publication date resides in the year 2012 for winning novels.

If you have been curious to find out what JournalStone Publications is all about, but didn’t know how to go about it, now is your opportunity.

Minimum of 20 entries required to validate contest.  If last year’s contest is used as a barometer this is not even close to an issue.

Judges will be added as we finalize:

1.  Christopher C. Payne  -  President of JournalStone.  My vote should count more than the others, but it probably won’t.

2.  Joel Blaine Kirkpatrick – is an author/blogger from Southwest Colorado. He has self-published four novels, and is in awe of the Indie talents he began to discover last year. Joel also claims to be influenced by classical authors from Edward Lear to Bulwer Lytton.

3.  Colleen Wanglund  –  is a self-described gorehound, bookwhore and metalhead. She lives in NYC with her two grown children, her boyfriend and her dog Manning. Colleen’s writing can be found in The Horror Fiction Review, Monster Librarian, Cinema Knife Fight, Mondo Film and Video Guide and More Horror.

4.  Brett J. Talley – Winner of JournalStone’s $2,000 in 2011 contest and author of “That Which Should Not Be”.  A native of the South, Brett Talley received a philosophy and history degree from the University of Alabama before moving to witch-haunted Massachusetts to attend Harvard Law School.

5.  Dr. Michael R. Collings – is an emeritus professor of English and Creative Writing at Pepperdine University who retired after nearly three decades there, during which time he taught everything from Beowulf to Stephen King, freshman composition to writing the novel. He is the author of nine novels, half a dozen volumes of poetry, and well over a score of literary and scholarly studies, including works on Stephen King, Orson Scott Card, and Fantasy, Science Fiction, and Horror as genres.

6.  Charlie Courtland – is a fabulous dichotomy that embraces all her ridiculousness. She’s a published author of three gruesome books in the historical fiction/horror genre. She founded Bitsy Bling Books to give a voice and free review forum to indie/self-published authors, but also reviews for tall, grande and venti mainstream publishing and Amazon Vine. She graduated from the University of Washington with a B.A. in English Literature with an emphasis on Creative Writing, and a minor in Criminology. Courtland rarely sleeps, drinks copious amounts of coffee and mutters endlessly to her dog.

Judging Criteria

Plot, Character Development, Setting, Rhythm, Grammar, Structure, Uniqueness, Style, Marketability, Judge’s Objective


The top 10 winners will be announced on June 1, 2012.

The top three finalists will be announced on June 15, 2012.

The overall winner will be announced on June 30, 2012.

Dates are approximate and subject to change.


Associations we support and are a member of:

HWA Button IBPA_proudmember_1HPLHSArkhamSealWNBAsfwa_logologo

HWA – Horror Writers Association

IBPA – Independent Book Publishing Association

HPLHS – The HP Lovecraft Historical Society

WNBA – Women’s National Book Association

SFWA – Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America

ITW – International Thriller Writers


If you get a chance please visit and support the sites we actively advertise with.

Hellnotes, HorrorNews, BuyZombie, Horror Asylum, Horror News Network, InnsMouth Free Press,

Cemetery Dance Magazine, Publishers Weekly, Pissed Off



Last year’s winning logos.


1st Place Book Tag 2nd Place Book Tag 3rd Place Book Tag

Switch to our mobile site